Tags

, , , , ,

Photo nicked from http://www.thebarking.com

The embryonic stage of Canaan Dogs came about in late summer 2010 as my freshman attempt in NaNoWriMo. The goal was to write 50,000 words of a novel in thirty days. It was a failure in that I didn’t reach the goal. However, it did develop enough to let me know that it would be a viable birth at some point in the future.

Hmm… at some point in the future. I didn’t expect the gestation period to last eighteen months! “A year, perhaps” I said, “maybe even a a bit more.” Yet, here I am still plinking away at it.

The research was, and continues to be a killer. That was expected since I haven’t any specialized training in nanotechnology. The thing I hadn’t even considered was world building.

In the Creation Myth, the world was created in six days. Building a post-apocalyptic world for a work of fiction, without magic, takes far more than six days, I can tell you! There are so many things to consider.

First, of course, I have to consider the catastrophe and its immediate repercussions. But, what about all the personal stories of the people who are affected? How will they cope? They’re alive, so they have to eat, drink, and sleep somewhere, somehow. Their laundry still wants doing and the larder wants restocking. And what to do about all those dead, rotting bodies littering the countryside?

Being social creatures, people are going to want to reform some kind of government, make a few rules, and police the survivors. And, mentioning police, not everyone who survives a calamitous event is going to be a “good guy”.  Some of those asses are going to want to govern the rest. Will the world go back to something akin to the one that was virtually destroyed, or will a “new world order” be established.

I’ve been doing a lot of research recently about building worlds. I feel like that greedy kid who stuffed all the candies in his mouth to keep his buddies from having any. My mouth is full, I can’t speak, can barely breathe and I’m still surrounded by putrefying flesh!

This has been a real fun, and sometimes frustrating experience for me. I still don’t have a world fully created to my satisfaction, but dammit I’m in too far to stop now!

Have any of you had to build “new and improved” worlds for your stories? How did you deal with it? Knowing there is no easy way to do it, I’m sure open to suggestions, ideas, anything to keep this project’s forward momentum. The Google search engine is an amazing thing for coming up with ideas. I can’t imagine how writers managed to get post-apocalyptic stories written before the advent of the internet! I’m sure though, that library time was measured in months rather than days!

I hope you’re enjoying the Canaan Dogs post so far, and that you’ll continue to do so. When I finally manage to deliver this “baby” I hope you’ll favor me by reading and reviewing it. Meanwhile, who has thoughts, ideas, recommendations for me?

